PLC-ARAC

Votes Send Comments

Item/File Ext.
new official plan - preliminary policy directions
ReportENNew Official Plan – Preliminary Policy Directions.docx
Document 1_Growth Projections for the new Official Plan .docx
Document 2-Preliminary Policy Directions.docx
Document 4-As-We-Heard-It.pdf

Votes

ITEM: New Official Plan - Preliminary Policy Directions

Motion Yes No Absent/Recused
Motion To: That Planning Committee and Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee recommend Council: 1. approve the recommended population, household and employment projections as the basis for the new Official Plan in Document 1; 2. approve the Preliminary Policy Directions for the new Official Plan in Document 2; 3. direct staff to bring a report to a joint meeting of Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee and Planning Committee, and Council in March 2020 outlining the land budget and detailed expansion area criteria that will be used to inform the growth strategy in the new Official Plan; 4. direct staff to prepare a draft Official Plan to be tabled in October 2020 based on the Preliminary Policy Directions in Document 2 and the land budget and detailed expansion criteria approved in March 2020; 5. direct staff to initiate preparatory work in Q1 2020 to implement the new Official Plan in the Zoning By-law and bring a work plan to Council by Q4 2020, using current staff resources; 6. s
pop-out
E. El-Chantiry
J. Harder
J. Leiper
G. Gower
R. Brockington
T. Tierney
S. Moffatt (a)
R. Chiarelli (a)
S. Blais (a)
A. Hubley (a)
G. Darouze (a)
C. Meehan (a)
L. Dudas (a)
Motion To: WHEREAS report ACS2019-PIE-EDP-0046, New Official Plan – Preliminary Policy Directions, recommends preliminary policy directions for the new Official Plan; and WHEREAS the Algonquins of Ontario have requested that policies relating to any detailed decisions pertaining to the required urban area to accommodate the growth projections be deferred to a report in March 2020; THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee and Planning Committee recommend Council approve that an additional joint meeting of Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee and Planning Committee take place in March 2020 to consider the following matters pursuant to the Planning Act, section 26: a) To present the growth strategy policies in the new Official Plan and to discuss the revisions that may be required to ensure the new Official Plan is consistent with the Provincial Policy Statement and has regard for matters of provincial interest listed in section 2 of the Planning Act; and
pop-out
E. El-Chantiry
J. Harder
J. Leiper
G. Gower
R. Brockington
T. Tierney
S. Moffatt (a)
R. Chiarelli (a)
S. Blais (a)
A. Hubley (a)
G. Darouze (a)
C. Meehan (a)
L. Dudas (a)

Public Comment Contact Information

Everyone is entitled to attend committee meetings and provide a verbal statement (up to 5 minutes long) before Councillors vote on each agenda item. If you are not able to attend a meeting, you can also email your comments to councillors. Either way, your statements become part of the official record - and this is the single most important step to shaping the outcome of your city.

Click this "mailto:" link, or cut-and-paste the following email addresses to send your comments:

riley.brockington@ottawa.ca, rick.chiarelli@ottawa.ca, george.darouze@ottawa.ca, eli.el-chantiry@ottawa.ca, jan.harder@ottawa.ca, allan.hubley@ottawa.ca, jeff.leiper@ottawa.ca, scott.moffatt@ottawa.ca, timothy.tierney@ottawa.ca, ward19co@ottawa.ca

Committee Members:
Name Last Email Phone
Riley Brockington riley.brockington@ottawa.ca 613-580-2486
Rick Chiarelli rick.chiarelli@ottawa.ca 613-580-2478
George Darouze george.darouze@ottawa.ca 613-580-2490
Eli El-Chantiry eli.el-chantiry@ottawa.ca 613-580-2475
Jan Harder jan.harder@ottawa.ca 613-580-2473
Allan Hubley allan.hubley@ottawa.ca 613-580-2752
Jeff Leiper jeff.leiper@ottawa.ca 613-580-2485
Scott Moffatt scott.moffatt@ottawa.ca 613-580-2491
Tim Tierney timothy.tierney@ottawa.ca 613-580-2481
Vacant Vacant ward19co@ottawa.ca 613-580-2489