Community and Protective Services Committee

Video Votes Send Comments

Item/File Ext.
declarations of interest
confirmation of minutes
minutes 15 - 16 june 2016
CPSC Minutes 15 EN.pdf
CPSC Minutes 15 FR.doc
status update - community and protective services committee inquiries and motions - for the period ending 18 august 2016
Report - CPSC Motions and Inquiries Status Update
Document 1 - CPSC Outstanding Motions - Departmental Log.pdf
ottawa fire services 2015 annual report
Report - Fire Services 2015 Annual Report.pdf
prohibiting the use of waterpipes in public places and workplaces
Report - Hookah By-law.pdf
Document 1 - Consultations on non-tobacco substances.pdf
Document 2 - Water Pipes in Public Places and Workplaces By-law.pdf
Document 3 - Amendments to Encroachment By-law 2003-446.pdf
Document 4 -Amendments to the Parkdale Market By-law 2008-448.pdf
Document 5 - Written submissions.pdf
information previously distributed
use of delegated authority during 2015 by the community and social services department, as set out in schedule 'b' city of ottawa, by-law 2014-435
IPD A - ACS2016-CSS-GEN-0001 Del Auth 2015 Soc Svcs.pdf
use of delegated authority during 2015 by parks, recreation and cultural services department, as set out in subsectiohns 13 (8) and 13 (9) and in sections 11 to 21 of schedule 'b', of by-law 2014-435
IPD B -PRC Delegated Authority 2015.pdf
IPD B - Document 1 - Sponsorship and Adv over $25,000.pdf
IPD B - Document 2 - Cultural Funding Summary IPD.pdf
IPD B - Document 3 - Recreation Funding Summary.pdf
IPD B - Document 4 - 2015 City of Ottawa Archives Donors Report.pdf
update - harmonization of recreation programs and fees
IPD C - Harmonization of Recreation Programs and Fees Update.pdf
adjournment

Meeting Video

City Council meetings have full video and audio. Committee meetings (including the Police Services and Library boards) are audio only, so ignore the test pattern. Those videos are still playable.

Open in Youtube.

Votes

ITEM: Minutes 15 - 16 June 2016

Motion Yes No Absent/Recused
Motion To:
pop-out
M. Fleury
R. Brockington
G. Darouze
S. Qadri
K. Egli
D. Deans
J. Mitic
R. Chiarelli (a)
T. Nussbaum (a)
M. Qaqish (a)

ITEM: STATUS UPDATE - COMMUNITY AND PROTECTIVE SERVICES COMMITTEE INQUIRIES AND MOTIONS - FOR THE PERIOD ENDING 18 AUGUST 2016

Motion Yes No Absent/Recused
Motion To:
pop-out
M. Fleury
R. Brockington
G. Darouze
S. Qadri
K. Egli
D. Deans
J. Mitic
R. Chiarelli (a)
T. Nussbaum (a)
M. Qaqish (a)

ITEM: OTTAWA FIRE SERVICES 2015 ANNUAL REPORT

Motion Yes No Absent/Recused
Motion To: That the Community and Protective Services Committee receive this report for information.
pop-out
M. Fleury
R. Brockington
G. Darouze
S. Qadri
K. Egli
D. Deans
J. Mitic
T. Nussbaum
R. Chiarelli (a)
M. Qaqish (a)

ITEM: PROHIBITING THE USE OF WATERPIPES IN PUBLIC PLACES AND WORKPLACES

Motion Yes No Absent/Recused
Motion To: WHEREAS, the Board of Health, in conjunction with Emergency and Protective Services, has submitted to the Community and Protective Services Committee (CPSC) for consideration a proposed by-law, and amendments to existing by-laws, to prohibit the use of water pipes in enclosed public places, enclosed workplaces and outdoor patios; and, WHEREAS, the primary objectives of the prohibition are to protect public health and to close a gap in legislation, addressing an issue for which municipalities do have authority to regulate; and, WHEREAS, the Board of Health report submitted to CPSC proposes an implementation plan that includes: an education phase that would begin upon Council approval of the new regulations and would be accompanied by a public awareness campaign; a warning phase that would commence December 1, 2016, the date on which the regulations take effect; and a charging phase that would commence January 1, 2017; and, WHEREAS, during the charging phase, by-law enforcement staff would issue
pop-out
R. Chiarelli
M. Fleury
R. Brockington
G. Darouze
S. Qadri
K. Egli
D. Deans
J. Mitic
T. Nussbaum
M. Qaqish
Motion To:
pop-out
R. Chiarelli
M. Fleury
R. Brockington
S. Qadri
K. Egli
D. Deans
J. Mitic
T. Nussbaum
M. Qaqish
G. Darouze

Public Comment Contact Information

Everyone is entitled to attend committee meetings and provide a verbal statement (up to 5 minutes long) before Councillors vote on each agenda item. If you are not able to attend a meeting, you can also email your comments to councillors. Either way, your statements become part of the official record - and this is the single most important step to shaping the outcome of your city.

Click this "mailto:" link, or cut-and-paste the following email addresses to send your comments:

riley.brockington@ottawa.ca, rick.chiarelli@ottawa.ca, george.darouze@ottawa.ca, diane.deans@ottawa.ca, keith.egli@ottawa.ca, mathieu.fleury@ottawa.ca, jody.mitic@ottawa.ca, tobi.nussbaum@ottawa.ca, shad.qadri@ottawa.ca, michael.qaqish@ottawa.ca

Committee Members:
Name Last Email Phone
Riley Brockington riley.brockington@ottawa.ca
Rick Chiarelli rick.chiarelli@ottawa.ca 613-580-2478
George Darouze george.darouze@ottawa.ca
Diane Deans diane.deans@ottawa.ca 613-580-2480
Keith Egli keith.egli@ottawa.ca 613-580-2479
Mathieu Fleury mathieu.fleury@ottawa.ca 613-580-2482
Jody Mitic jody.mitic@ottawa.ca
Tobi Nussbaum tobi.nussbaum@ottawa.ca
Shad Qadri shad.qadri@ottawa.ca 613-580-2476
Michael Qaqish michael.qaqish@ottawa.ca