Community and Protective Services Committee

Video Votes Send Comments

Item/File Ext.
minutes 10 - february 25, 2016
DRAFT Minutes 10 EN.pdf
DRAFT Minutes 10 FR.pdf
pet shop by-law review
Report - Pet Shop By-law Review Report.docx
Report FR - Pet Shop By-law Review Report - FR.pdf
Document 1 - Drafting Instructions - Amendments to Schedule 39 to Licensing By-law No 2002-189 (as amended).pdf
Document 2 - Summary - Results of Consultation.pdf
Document 1 FR - Pet Shop By-law Review Drafting Instructions - FR.pdf
Document 2 FR - Pet Shop By-law Review Consultatoin results summary - FR.pdf
city of ottawa youth summit action plan final update
IPD A (EN) - Youth Summit Action Plan.docx
IPD A (FR) - Youth Summit Action Plan.docx
Document 1 (EN) - Youth Summit Action Plan 2013 - 2014 – Final Report.docx
Document 1 (FR) -Youth Summit Action Plan 2013 - 2014 – Final Report.docx
adjournment

Meeting Video

City Council meetings have full video and audio. Committee meetings (including the Police Services and Library boards) are audio only, so ignore the test pattern. Those videos are still playable.

Open in Youtube.

Votes

ITEM: Minutes 10 - February 25, 2016

Motion Yes No Absent/Recused
Motion To:
pop-out
R. Chiarelli
M. Fleury
G. Darouze
D. Deans
J. Mitic
R. Brockington (a)
S. Qadri (a)
K. Egli (a)
T. Nussbaum (a)
M. Qaqish (a)

ITEM: PET SHOP BY-LAW REVIEW

Motion Yes No Absent/Recused
Motion To: WHEREAS City staff recommends amendments to Schedule 29 of Licensing By-law No. 2002-189 by calling for a restriction on the sources of dogs and cats for sale in both new and existing licensed pet shops; and WHEREAS these restrictions indicate pet shops are only to source their dogs and cats from municipal animal shelters, humane societies, societies for the prevention of cruelty to animals, and rescue organizations; and WHEREAS the breeding conditions of rabbits being sold in pet stores, another prevalent issue, is not being addressed; THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the City of Ottawa include rabbits in this ban and restricts their sources to municipal animal shelters, humane societies, societies for the prevention of cruelty to animals, and rescue organizations.
pop-out
R. Brockington
R. Chiarelli
M. Fleury
G. Darouze
S. Qadri
D. Deans
J. Mitic
M. Qaqish
K. Egli (a)
T. Nussbaum (a)
Motion To: WHEREAS City staff recommends amendments to Schedule 29 of Licensing By-law No. 2002-189 by calling for a restriction on the sources of dogs and cats for sale in both new and existing licensed pet shops; and WHEREAS with the exception of three pet shops, the only acceptable sources for dogs and cats are municipal animal shelters, humane societies, societies for the prevention of cruelty to animals, and rescue organizations; and WHEREAS it is recommended that these three existing pet shops be permitted to continue selling dogs and cats for profits on the condition that these animals originate from establishments inspected on an annual basis by an authorized agent; and WHEREAS these inspections are permitted to take place upon request therefore giving faulty commercial establishments ample notice to temporarily rectify all animal welfare issues, while over the other 364 days of the year, providing poor care to their dogs and cats; and WHEREAS this proposed ban places the onus and cost for inspect
pop-out
R. Chiarelli
M. Fleury
R. Brockington
G. Darouze
S. Qadri
D. Deans
J. Mitic
M. Qaqish
K. Egli (a)
T. Nussbaum (a)
Motion To: WHEREAS it is Council's objective to, in the longer term, have all pet shops operate under an adoption model through which cats and dogs are available from municipal animal shelters, humane societies, societies for the prevention of cruelty to animals, or rescue organizations; AND WHEREAS the proposed amendments to Schedule 29 to the Licensing By-law relating to pet shops, as set out in the staff report, include an amendment to provide for the aforementioned objective; AND WHEREAS also included in the staff report is an amendment that will permit the 3 licensed pet shops (Appendix A, Document 1) currently selling cats and dogs originating from commercial sources to continue doing so provided that those sources have been inspected by the relevant authorized animal welfare agency and are found to meet the requirements of the applicable animal welfare legislation enforced by that agency, and to have no convictions or outstanding Orders under that legislation; AND WHEREAS, to allow those 3 pet shop
pop-out
M. Fleury
R. Brockington
G. Darouze
S. Qadri
D. Deans
J. Mitic
M. Qaqish
R. Chiarelli
K. Egli (a)
T. Nussbaum (a)

Public Comment Contact Information

Everyone is entitled to attend committee meetings and provide a verbal statement (up to 5 minutes long) before Councillors vote on each agenda item. If you are not able to attend a meeting, you can also email your comments to councillors. Either way, your statements become part of the official record - and this is the single most important step to shaping the outcome of your city.

Click this "mailto:" link, or cut-and-paste the following email addresses to send your comments:

riley.brockington@ottawa.ca, rick.chiarelli@ottawa.ca, george.darouze@ottawa.ca, diane.deans@ottawa.ca, keith.egli@ottawa.ca, mathieu.fleury@ottawa.ca, jody.mitic@ottawa.ca, tobi.nussbaum@ottawa.ca, shad.qadri@ottawa.ca, michael.qaqish@ottawa.ca

Committee Members:
Name Last Email Phone
Riley Brockington riley.brockington@ottawa.ca
Rick Chiarelli rick.chiarelli@ottawa.ca 613-580-2478
George Darouze george.darouze@ottawa.ca
Diane Deans diane.deans@ottawa.ca 613-580-2480
Keith Egli keith.egli@ottawa.ca 613-580-2479
Mathieu Fleury mathieu.fleury@ottawa.ca 613-580-2482
Jody Mitic jody.mitic@ottawa.ca
Tobi Nussbaum tobi.nussbaum@ottawa.ca
Shad Qadri shad.qadri@ottawa.ca 613-580-2476
Michael Qaqish michael.qaqish@ottawa.ca