Finance and Economic Development Committee

Video Votes Send Comments

Item/File Ext.
city of ottawa participation in the ontario lottery and gaming corporation (olg) request for pr
PrimaryReport - City of Ottawa Participation in the OLG RFP proposal process.docx
Document 1 - City of Ottawas Response to Ontario Lottery Gaming Corporation Request for Expression of Interest.docx
Document 1a FEDC Minutes - October 2, 2012.doc
Document 2 - City of Ottawa Participation in OLF RFP Process.docx
Document 2a - FEDC DRAFT Minutes - July 9, 2013.doc

Meeting Video

City Council meetings have full video and audio. Committee meetings (including the Police Services and Library boards) are audio only, so ignore the test pattern. Those videos are still playable.

Open in Youtube.

Votes

ITEM: CITY OF OTTAWA PARTICIPATION IN THE ONTARIO LOTTERY AND GAMING CORPORATION (OLG) REQUEST FOR PR

Motion Yes No Absent/Recused
Motion To: WHEREAS best practices have been identified that can help casinos and other gaming sites reduce the risk for problem gambling as part of their planning and day-to-day operations; THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Finance and Economic Development Committee recommend that City Council inform the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation (OLG) that the City of Ottawa recommends that the successful proponent arising from the OLG’s Request for Proposal process for the zone including the City of Ottawa implement the following as public health measures intended to reduce the risk of problem gambling: 1. Limit hours of casino operation: no 24-hour access to venues, closed at least 6 hours per day; 2. Restrict the number of electronic gaming machines (EGMs) and slowing down machine speed of play and prohibit features that promote false beliefs of the odds of winning; 3. Eliminate casino loyalty programs; 4. Prohibit ATMs on the gambling floor; 5. Prohibit casino credit and holding accounts; 6. Reduce max
pop-out
M. Taylor
K. Egli
D. Deans
D. Thompson
A. Hubley
J. Watson
P. Hume
M. McRae
R. Chiarelli
B. Monette
P. Clark
Motion To: WHEREAS at its meeting of October 10th, 2012, Council approved that the Mayor send a letter to the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation (“OLG”) to “consider providing an opportunity for the Rideau Carleton Raceway to be pre-qualified to take part in the final bidding process, given their strong record of success in the Ottawa Region.”; and WHEREAS on July 17th, 2013, Council referred to the Finance and Economic Development Committee a motion whereby the Mayor ask the Province of Ontario and OLG “to create a separate gaming zone and Request for Proposal process for the Rideau Carleton Raceway, such that the Rideau Carleton Raceway retains its current allocation of 1250 slots and the approved expansion for 21 gaming tables;” and WHEREAS the Mayor agreed at that Council meeting to pose such a question to the Province of Ontario in advance of the August 26th Committee meeting; and WHERE AS the Mayor has received correspondence from Charles Sousa, Minister of Finance, dated Monday, Aug
pop-out
R. Chiarelli
M. Taylor
B. Monette
P. Clark
K. Egli
D. Thompson
A. Hubley
J. Watson
P. Hume
M. McRae
D. Deans

Public Comment Contact Information

Everyone is entitled to attend committee meetings and provide a verbal statement (up to 5 minutes long) before Councillors vote on each agenda item. If you are not able to attend a meeting, you can also email your comments to councillors. Either way, your statements become part of the official record - and this is the single most important step to shaping the outcome of your city.

Click this "mailto:" link, or cut-and-paste the following email addresses to send your comments:

riley.brockington@ottawa.ca, rick.chiarelli@ottawa.ca, jean.cloutier@ottawa.ca, george.darouze@ottawa.ca, diane.deans@ottawa.ca, keith.egli@ottawa.ca, allan.hubley@ottawa.ca, bob.monette@ottawa.ca, tobi.nussbaum@ottawa.ca, mark.taylor@ottawa.ca, jim.watson@ottawa.ca

Committee Members:
Name Last Email Phone
Riley Brockington riley.brockington@ottawa.ca
Rick Chiarelli rick.chiarelli@ottawa.ca 613-580-2478
Jean Cloutier jean.cloutier@ottawa.ca
George Darouze george.darouze@ottawa.ca
Diane Deans diane.deans@ottawa.ca 613-580-2480
Keith Egli keith.egli@ottawa.ca 613-580-2479
Allan Hubley allan.hubley@ottawa.ca 613-580-2752
Bob Monette bob.monette@ottawa.ca 613-580-2471
Tobi Nussbaum tobi.nussbaum@ottawa.ca
Mark Taylor mark.taylor@ottawa.ca 613-580-2477
Jim Watson jim.watson@ottawa.ca 613-580-2496